Carnations

After you touch me,
my entire body blossoms.
I vomit up rose petals, soil.
My skin radiates spring.
Persephone has invaded my skeleton,
coaxing fertility and something fresh
and untouched by man’s cold
and callous hands.
I turn from girl to god,
to willow, to birdsong
in the early glow of morning.
I awaken at the touch of Demeter,
eyes wide and mouth open
with the call of a kit
mewling for her mother.
My limbs groan and crack
and I am my own.

[Written February 10th, 2017]

Leave a Reply

