On Inspiration Pt. 2

A while back I shared some of the quotes that inspire me intellectually and emotionally when it comes to writing. Of course reading will often push me to write, but inspiration comes in many forms (as it does for most people). Paintings, films, photographs, conversations…the list goes on. Music, however, is one of the most difficult things for me to describe with words. Sound overflows the banks of my mind and I’m incapable of forming short phrases, let alone entire sentences. Sometimes I’m able to reflect back on the feelings that grace my conscience while a song is playing, but it is so rare that I can count on my fingers the number of songs that have so deeply affected my psyche as to beg for description in paragraphs. Feel free to listen and share in the joy of these pieces with me.

Symphony No.3, F major Op.90 – III. Poco allegretto by Johannes Brahms

Michicant by Bon Iver

Giant by Matrimony

The Predatory Wasp Of The Palisades Is Out To Get Us! by Sufjan Stevens

Allen & Lucien by Nico Muhly

Orpheus by Milo Greene

Little Lights by Punch Brothers

Passenger Seat by Death Cab for Cutie

Prelude: The Atlas March by Tom Tykwer, Johnny Klimek, & Reinhold Heil

Promise by Ben Howard

Leave a Reply

