Coping

It’s early morning and I pull the blinds
open to greet the fog
my breath appearing on the glass
I close my eyes for a moment and you ask
“Have you taken your medicine yet?”
then you’re next to me
all blanket and mussed hair and sleep in your eyes
your lips touch my temple
I stare at our reflections
you smile and wrap me up and pull me in
I close my eyes again
and then you’re gone
the blanket is on the bed
it’s just me and the morning fog
and I still haven’t taken my medicine.

[Written September 20th, 2016]

Leave a Reply

